The Top 3 Most Popular Science Stories of 2015 at UCSF Showcased the Work of Fellows

 NIH Early Independence Awards

The NIH Director's Office initiated a prestigious new grant program in 2011, known as the Early Independence Award (EIA), which is designed to support talented new Ph.D.s and M.D.s who have the intellect, scientific creativity, drive and maturity to flourish independently without the need for traditional post-doctoral training. These are highly competitive grants, with only about 10-15 awards made per year. UCSF Sandler Fellows match the criteria and goals of the EIA program extremely well, and we are pleased to announce that several of our Fellows have been selected for these distinguished grants.

Congratulations to:


James Fraser, 2011 recipient





Matt Thomson, 2012 recipient




Saul Villeda, 2012 recipient





Lei (Stanley) Qi, 2013 recipient




David Weinberg, 2013 recipient




Robert Judson, 2014 recipient




Joe Bondy-Denomy, 2015 recipient





Matthew Spitzer, 2016 recipient




Kevin Yackle, 2016 recipient





Alison Gould, 2018 recipient





Isha Jain, 2018 recipient




Margaux Pinney, 2022 recipient





Andrew Yang, 2022 recipient




Link to all NIH Early Independence Award Recipients


NIH New Innovator Awards (Link)

Faranak Fattahi, 2019 recipient



Vijay Ramani, 2021 recipient


Forbes' 30 Under 30 (Link)

Vijay Ramani, 2019 recipient